Elmwood Church of God had its beginning in 1920, becoming the first Pentecostal church in Columbia.  A small group of men and women began having services in the home of Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Finklea in Granby Village. After moving to South Gregg Street, the church was set in order by the State Overseer, W. H. Cross.  In 1937 during the pastorate of Wade H. Horton, the church moved to South Main Street. In 1951 this property was sold, and the congregation worshiped in a tent for a short period of time while construction began on a new church building on Elmwood Avenue at Bull Street.  In May 1952 under the leadership of Reverend O. B. Graham, the congregation moved into the present sanctuary building.

A new multipurpose building was constructed behind the main sanctuary in 1989 under the leadership of Bishop Richard Porterfield. This building holds our administrative and ministry offices, classrooms, a commercial kitchen, and a gymnasium.  In 2006 construction was completed connecting the two existing buildings. The new addition includes a welcome center/lobby, choir suite, expanded office area, and new baptistry, as well as an elevator accessing all levels except the balcony. The sanctuary was retrofitted and includes a new balcony which provides additional seating for approximately 115, bringing the total seating capacity to approximately 365.

Several churches in the Columbia area have been organized from the Elmwood Church of God.


Still a vibrant and growing congregation, the Elmwood Church of God on the corner of Elmwood Avenue and Bull Street remains committed to bringing hope and a message of forgiveness through Jesus Christ to our community and committed to disciplining believers to know the truth of God’s Word and to assist everyone in discovering their purpose.





ECOG church pkg lot clear quality CROPPED